Google Search
Celebration of academic excellence takes place

SOCIAL SCIENCES: Faculty members from this department and others were honoured recently. From left: Dean Ragnar-Olaf Buchweitz, Principal Franco Vaccarino, Professors Kirsty Duncan, Andre Sorensen, and Minelle Mahtani, along with incoming chair Ted Relph and outgoing chair John Miron. Missing are Anne-Emanuelle Birn and Michael Lambek. (Photo by Ken Jones.)

It’s important to celebrate our academic successes and share our triumphs, according to Professor Franco Vaccarino, principal of the University of Toronto Scarborough.

That was the message delivered to faculty and staff members who gathered on the evening of Thursday, May 29 in Bluff’s Restaurant in the Student Centre for Celebrating Academic Excellence. The event was designed to congratulate faculty and staff members who have received academic awards and recognition from external organizations over the past year. Shining the spotlight on these awards helps to build pride within the campus community and recognize the caliber of excellent researchers, teachers and staff members here at U of T Scarborough, Vaccarino said.

Professor Ragnar-Olaf Buchweitz, vice-principal (academic) and dean, introduced the department chairs, who described the achievements of award recipients and presented recognition plaques to those who were in attendance. Award winners unable to attend were honoured by their department chairs or designates, who accepted the awards on their behalf.

More photos from the event can be viewed by clicking here:

Those honoured at the event are as follows:

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES - Michelle Aarts, Canada Research Chair in Signal Transduction in Ischemia; Maydianne Andrade, Canada Research Chair in Integrative Behavioural Ecology; Clare Hasenkampf, Leadership in Faculty Teaching (LIFT) Award from the Province of Ontario and President’s Teaching Award from the University of Toronto; Herbert Kronzucker, Canada Research Chair in Metabolic Bioengineering of Crop Plants.

COMPUTER AND MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES - Lisa Jeffrey, Fellow, Royal Society of Canada; Balint Virag, Canada Research Chair in Probability and recipient of the Rollo Davidson Prize for achievement in mathematical probability theory.

HUMANITIES - Daniel Bender (History), Canada Research Chair in Urban History; Russell Kazal (History), National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship to the Huntington Library in San Marino, California; Tanya Mars (Visual and Performing Arts), senior lecturer and program supervisor, Governor General’s Award for artistic achievement in visual and performing arts; Natalie Rothman (History), Andrew Mellon Postdoctoral Research Fellowship to the Newberry Library in Chicago.

MANAGEMENT - Liang Chen, Alice L. Beeman Award in Communications and Marketing for Educational Advancement for Best Thesis, Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE).

PHYSICAL & ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES - James Donaldson, Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

PSYCHOLOGY - Steve Joordens, Leadership in Faculty Teaching Award, Province of Ontario; John Kennedy, Fellow, Institute of Advanced Study, Berlin.

SOCIAL SCIENCES - Anne-Emanuelle Birn, (International Development Studies), Canada Research Chair in International Health; Kirsty Duncan, (Health Studies), lead author on reports by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which shared the Nobel Peace Prize with former U.S. Vice-President Al Gore; Michael Lambek, ( Anthropology) Canada Research Chair in the Anthropology of Ethical Life; Minelle Mahtani, (Geography) Fellow of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society; Andre Sorensen, (Geography) Fellow, University of Tokyo Faculty of Engineering;

THE WRITING CENTRE - Nancy Johnston, Elaine Khoo and Sarah King of Teaching and Learning Services were group recipients of a Certificate of Excellence from the National Council of Teachers of English (U.S.) at its Conference on College Composition and Communication, which recognized the achievements of the Writing Centre.

© University of Toronto Scarborough