Google Search
Two U of T Scarborough math professors have the formula for award-winning success

U of T Scarborough professors John Friedlander and Lisa Jeffrey recently received awards for their contributions to the field of mathematics

Two University of Toronto Scarborough mathematicians have received prestigious awards for their unique research and contributions to the field of mathematics.

Professor Lisa Jeffrey was recently named the 2017 Noether Lecturer, while Professor John Friedlander is the joint recipient of the 2017 AMS Joseph L. Doob Prize.

“John Friedlander and Lisa Jeffrey have made tremendous contributions with ground-breaking discoveries in their fields of research, number theory and the geometric foundations of mathematical physics respectively,” says CMS chair Professor David Fleet.

Jeffrey, whose current work focuses on techniques from pure mathematics like symplectic geometry, received the award from The Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) and the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

In receiving the award Jeffrey was noted for her “contributions and leadership in symplectic and algebraic geometry, focused on connections with theoretical physics.”

Jeffrey is an AMS Fellow and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. She is also a past recipient of the E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship.

Established in 1980 by the AWM, The Noether Lecture is an award and lecture series that honours women who have made important and “sustained contributions” to the field of mathematics. Since 2015 the award has been co-sponsored with AMS.

Friedlander received the AMS Doob Prize along with Professor Henryk Iwaniec of Rutgers University for their book Opera de Cribro.

The book explores the idea of sieves as a mathematical tool for sifting through prime numbers out of sets of whole numbers. It was noted for “high-quality writing, clear explanations and numerous examples” that helped readers understand the subject in depth. 

In addition to being a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a Founding Fellow of the Fields Institute, Friedlander is also a Fellow of the AMS. He is also the past recipient of the Jeffrey-Williams Prize and the CRM-Fields-PIMS prize.

Presented every three years, the Doob prize recognizes a research book that makes a significant contribution to the research literature and promises to have a lasting impact on the field. The prize will be awarded Jan. 5, 2017 at the Joint Mathematics Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia. 


© University of Toronto Scarborough