Google Search
Canada’s Top Swimmers Meet at the Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre

UTSC student Rebecca Stellino will be competing in the Swimming Canada trials April 1-4 at the Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre. (Photo by Martin Bazyl)

Swimming fans can get a jump on the excitement at the Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre as two national swim meets will determine which of Canada’s top swimmers will represent their country at the upcoming Toronto 2015 Games and this year’s world championships. 

The Can Am Para-swimming Championships on March 20th through 22nd are the selection trials for the IPC Swimming World Championships in Glasgow, Scotland in July, and the 2015 Parapan American Games taking place August 7 - 15.  Heats for the trials begin at 9:30 a.m. and finals are at 6 p.m. Admission is free.

University of Toronto Scarborough’s own Rebecca Stellino, a gold-medal winner at last year’s Speedo Eastern Canadian Championships, and Paige Schultz are two of the U of T athletes who will compete in the Swimming Canada trials on April 1st through 4th. The trials will identify Team Canada participants for the Pan American Games and the 16th FINA World Championships in Kazan, Russia this summer.

Schultz, a veteran of international competition, is a medal-winning member of the Varsity Blues swim team who is expected to build on her bronze-medal winning performance at the 2011 Pan American Games in Mexico City as a member of Canada’s 4X100 freestyle relay team. She’ll be competing for a place in the 50 free and 100 free style. Schultz recently received Canadian Interuniversity Sports’ Student-Athlete Community Service Award recognizing achievements in academics, athletics and community involvement.

Preliminary heats begin at 10 a.m. and finals at 6 p.m. Tickets are available at the door. Details are available at:

The trials are considered important stepping stones for athletes whose sights are set on the 31st Olympic Summer Games in Rio de Janeiro next year.

The following is a list of all U of T swimmers competing in the trials:


Zack Chetrat (HBA 2014)

Matthew Myers                    

Eli Wall                                 

Christopher Manning         

Mitchel Ferraro                    

Oliver Straszynski               

David Riley                          

Keith Eriks                            

Josh Gold                             

Daniel Kuiak                        

John Pelton                         

Ross Phillips                       

Sam Yaghmour                   

Kyle Haas                             

Matthew Dans         

Edward Liu               

Hochan Ryu            

Alexandre Magnan 


Lisa Van Breugel    

Bridget Coley           

Paige Schultz          

Kylie Masse             

Jennifer Tapley       

Rebecca Stellino    

Sherry Patel             

Victoria Radounski 

Melanie McDonald 

© University of Toronto Scarborough