Google Search
Honouring distinguished service at UTSC

Staff, students and faculty were honoured for their contributions to UTSC at a celebration June 18.

In a record turnout, more than 300 people came together Wednesday on the grounds of the Miller Lash House to celebrate remarkable service at UTSC.

“This celebration is about taking time out to acknowledge some of the talented and hard-working members of our community,” said Prof.  Bruce Kidd, interim vice-president and principal, UTSC.

The 2014 Celebration of Distinguished Service recognized retirees and those who have worked at the campus for 25 years. Several notable staff, faculty and students were also honoured with Principal’s Awards for their contributions to the UTSC community or their fields of work.

Professor Rudy Boonstra received the prestigious Principal’s Research Award for his work examining the stress faced by birds and mammals throughout Canada.  New this year, the Research Recognition Award went to Mary Silcox, Associate Professor of Anthropology for her research into primate evolution and brain evolution in primates and other mammals.

For his innovative approaches to environmental research, PhD student Hussain Masoom received the Graduate Student Research Award – Doctoral Level. The recipient of the Graduate Student Research Award – Master’s Level is Nadia Al-Dajani, for her mindfulness research.

Four students were honoured for their services as Teaching Assistants: Daniel Moghbel (Mathematics) and Yik Yu Edward So (Management) at the undergraduate level; and Joel Rodgers (English) and Candice Link (Geography) at the graduate level.

Dr. Svetlana Mikhaylichenko, a lecturer with the Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences, received a Faculty Teaching Award for creating a “relaxed and successful learning environment” in her classes. Biological Sciences Lecturer Dr. Aarthi Ashok also received a Faculty Teaching Award for her “significant, inventive measures to make the large classes she teaches interactive and creative.” A special commendation went to Prof. Steve Joordens for his commitment to innovation in teaching.

Two members of the UTSC community received the D.R. Campbell Merit Award, which recognizes service to the campus that goes beyond the person’s normal role: Mike Plumton, who has played a key role in new initiatives related to sexual and gender diversity, and Anjum Sultana, a student with a long list of accomplishments, such as founding the UTSC Chapter of War Child Canada.

Janis Jones, Secretary to the Committees of Council and one of this year’s retirees, received the Patrick Phillips Award for outstanding staff service.

Below are the staff and faculty who were honoured as retirees or for their length of service:

25 Years of Service

Sophie Chrysostomou

Clare Hasenkampf

Charles (Dan) Riggs

Tony Rupnaraine

Mark Schmuckler

Natilee Smith

Ronald Smyth

Gary Steele

Aziz Ullah

Laurel Wheeler



Wynona Bardgett

Neil Davies

Wayne Enright

Raafat Helmy

Janis Jones

Janice Joyce

Lynn Lardner

Diana Liang

Jack Martin

Susan Martin

Michelle McDonell

Henry Mroz

Rita Pearsall

Ted Petit

Hahim Shaswary

Andrew Stawinoga

John Venetas

Laurel Wheeler


© University of Toronto Scarborough