Google Search
Connaught Fund recognizes promising new researchers

Fourteen UTSC faculty representing ten different academic departments received New Researcher Awards from U of T’s Connaught Fund, which supports some of the most promising researchers and projects across the University.

The New Researcher Awards recognize those just starting their scholarly careers who are conducting excellent work, providing support to professors within the first five years of their academic appointment at the University of Toronto, helping them to establish strong research programs and thereby increase their competitiveness for external funding. The New Researcher Program, a two-tiered structure awarding $10,000 or $50,000, acknowledges that it is more expensive to launch a research program in some disciplines.

“The breadth and depth of research represented by this year's Connaught Fund award recipients is truly outstanding,” says Malcolm Campbell, vice-principal, research. “These awards recognize the excellence of these fine young researchers and the high quality research they are leading at UTSC."

Sébastien Drouin, assistant professor in the Centre for French and Linguistics, will use the Connaught New Researcher Award to launch an international project dedicated to French diplomacy and culture in 18th century Germany, studying 18th century manuscripts at The Gotha Research Centre at the University of Erfurt, which contains one of the most significant collections of early modern literature in Germany. Drouin’s interdisciplinary research interests bridge literature and philosophy, religion and the visual arts. “This award will truly help me build an international partnership with a top research centre in Early Modern studies,” he says.


UTSC faculty receiving Connaught New Researcher Awards are: 

Aisha Ahmad, Political Science  

Laura Bisaillon, Anthropology/Health Studies 

Jonathan Cant, Psychology

Sébastien Drouin, Centre for French and Linguistics 

Kara Gaston, English 

Hanno Rein, Physical and Environmental Sciences 

Paula Hastings, Historical and Cultural Studies 

Katie Kilroy-Marac, Anthropology

Nicole Klenk, Physical and Environmental Sciences

Sam Maglio, Management ($50,000) 

Philip Monahan, Centre for French and Linguistics                   

Julia A Nefsky, Philosophy 

Adrian Nestor, Psychology ($50,000)

Yi Gu, Arts, Culture and Media


Connaught New Researchers are part of a legacy of research excellence at U of T. The Connaught Fund is a suite of programs designed to promote excellence in research and innovation. Established in 1972, the fund was created from the sale of Connaught Laboratories, which first mass-produced insulin, the Nobel award-winning discovery of U of T researchers Frederick Banding, Charles Best, J.J.R. MacLeod and James Collip. 


© University of Toronto Scarborough