Google Search
UTSC's Dr. Aarthi Ashok wins Pat Rogers poster prize at STLHE conference

Dr. Aarthi Ashok, Pat Rogers poster prize winner.

Cape Breton University hosted the 32nd annual national Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) conference from June 19 – 22. University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) was well represented with eight instructors sharing their innovative teaching styles.

Dr. Aarthi Ashok in the Department of Biological Sciences won the Pat Rogers poster prize with Engage me with research: Creative course & assignment design in a large Biology course.

Dr. Ashok’s poster talk suggested that anchoring current scientific research with relevance to real life fundamental concepts like public health and medicine taught in undergraduate biology courses, would engage students and aid in the process of learning.

The theme of the 2013 STLHE conference was to promote living in an economically, physically, and culturally sustainable way and integrating sustained learning throughout. Those in attendance were treated to two keynote speakers, Rex Murphy of the CBC and Richard Gerver an expert in educational transformation.

Joining Dr. Ashok as contributors were UTSC faculty members: Connie Guberman, Nancy Johnston, Sarah King, Allyson Skene, Sandra Daga, Clare Hasenkampf, Alexa Woloshyn and Janelle Leboutillier.

© University of Toronto Scarborough