Google Search
Staff and faculty honoured with Distinguished Service Awards

Principal Franco Vaccarino presents Aisha Khaja with the D. R. Campbell Merit Award

The glorious sunshine and gardens of the Miller Lash House were the perfect setting for over 250 people to celebrate the distinguished services of numerous UTSC staff and faculty on June 23. 

Aisha Khaja took home the D. R. Campbell Merit Award, established by the Students’ Council to provide recognition for individuals who make a significant contribution to the improvement of the quality of life at UTSC. The award is presented for dedicated service to UTSC beyond the person’s normal role and for the initiation and development of a new UTSC program, facility, event or publication.

Professor Phil Triadafilopoulos, Department of Social Sciences, was honoured with the Faculty Teaching Award, established by Council, the Alumni Association and the Scarborough College Students' Union to recognize excellence in teaching. 

The Patrick Phillips Staff Award went to Lucy Pickering. She was given the award for her continuous displays of competence, commitment, courtesy and concern for others; and for her daily contribution to the success of UTSC without fanfare or self-promotion.

Two students were awarded the Graduate Student Research Award, recognizing the research activities of graduate students as well as their overall contribution to UTSC. Congratulations to Kristen Brochu, Department of Biological Sciences (Master’s program) and Norman Lee, Department of Biological Sciences (Doctoral program).

Michelle Hilscher and Caroline Hossein won the Graduate TA Award, while the Principal's Research Award went to Professor Franca Iacovetta from the Department of Humanities.

Other staff and faculty honoured included: 

25 Years Club

  • Rosita Epelbaum
  • Raafat Helmy
  • Gwendolyn Ivy
  • Grace Skogstad


  • Carol Boutin
  • Janet Bowie
  • Donald Cormack
  • Wayne Dowler
  • June Hatt
  • Raymond Or
  • Arthur Rubinoff
  • Susan Solomon
  • Lin Teo
  • Patricia Ann Verner
  • Martha Young


© University of Toronto Scarborough