Google Search
Watch Maydianne Andrade on TVO's Best Lecturer Competition

The final weekend of TVO's Best Lecturer competition is coming, and features a lecture by U of T Scarborough professor Maydianne Andrade.

The final pair of lectures by the ten finalists for TVO’s Best Lecturer competition will be delivered on Saturday, Feb. 10 and Sunday, Feb. 11 at 4 p.m.

University of Toronto professors have dominated the list of finalists. U of T faculty members have earned six of the 10 coveted spots – with half of those from U of T Scarborough. 

Each finalist delivers a lecture that is aired on TVO’s Big Ideas program. The public can vote to decide the winner. The finalists will compete for the opportunity to be named TVO’s Best Lecturer for 2007, with the winner earning a $10,000 scholarship for his or her university.

The television audience of Big Ideas can rate each of the top 10, and ultimately determine the Best Lecturer in Ontario. Each finalist will deliver a lecture, and viewers can vote for their favorite online. U of T has the most finalists of any university. The finalists are: Professors Maydianne Andrade, (Biology, U of T Scarborough), Kenneth Bartlett (History), Marc Fournier, (Psychology, U of T Scarborough), and Steve Joordens, (Psychology, U of T Scarborough), Bryan Karney (Civil Engineering), and Nick Mount (English).

The four remaining finalists are: Rupinder Brar, (University of Ontario Institute of Technology), Jacalyn Duffin, (Queen’s University), Allan Hutchinson, (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University), and Michael Persinger, (Laurentian University).

“We are absolutely thrilled with the success of our professors and with this acknowledgement of the teaching quality on our campus,” says Ragnar-Olaf Buchweitz, Vice-Principal (Academic) and Dean at U of T Scarborough. “Such strong showing and public recognition of outstanding teachers is very welcome, and we are so proud of all nominees. This event will put us, literally, on the big screen, as the lectures start to be shown on television.  I hope that the university community will watch --- and vote!”

Contestants were initially nominated by students across the province, with 155 names proposed, cut to 71, then to 30, and most recently, to 10. These finalists were chosen for their ability to present complex ideas with clarity, energy and authority by a distinguished panel of judges: Globe and Mail columnist Margaret Wente, novelist Camilla Gibb, and Maclean’s managing editor Tony Keller.

The remaining lectures are as follows:

Saturday, February 10 and Sunday, February 11 at 4:00 p.m.: 

Allan Hutchinson (Osgoode, York) and Maydianne Andrade (U of T Scarborough.)

For more details or to hear clips from the nominees’ lectures, visit:






© University of Toronto Scarborough