Google Search
1st Annual Student Research Conference on the Humanities

1st Annual Student Research Conference on the Humanities

Wednesday, March 17, 2010, 9:00am - 5:00pm


For More Information:


The Department of Humanities is proud to present the 1st Annual Student Research Conference in the Humanities at University of Toronto Scarborough. This event is taking place next Wednesday, March 17th in AA 160 (Council Chambers). The theme of this year’s conference is “Identity” – current undergraduate students submitted works and a committee worked to select the papers and pieces of creative writing that will be presented on Wednesday. This year’s winner will receive a cash prize of $400 and travel expenses to deliver their paper at another institution in North America (conditions apply).

At 3pm, along with the Closing Ceremonies there will be a Keynote Address by Christian Campbell, Assistant Professor of English at the University of Toronto (St. George), "Reading Toronto, Reading from the T.Dot." Christian Campbell is the author of the collection of poetry Running the Dusk, which was a finalist for the Cave Canem Prize.  He studied at Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar and received a PhD at Duke.  His poetry and essays have been published widely in the Caribbean, the United Kingdom and North America.  At St. George, he works at the intersection of Caribbean Literature, African Diaspora Studies, Poetry/Poetics, Cultural Studies, Postcolonial Theory and Creative Writing.

We would like to invite everyone to attend and participate in the discussions that will accompany each panel. (Attendees are eligible to win raffle prizes during the closing ceremony! J) Below is a schedule of events for the day. Please reply to Arts & Events Programming for event details, or call us at 416 208-4769.

9:00-10:00:          Identity and Hip Hop

                                Presenters:        Fathima Feroze Hameem

                                                              Shereena Aruldason

                                                              Andrew Shenkman

10:00-11:00:        Identity and Creative Writing

                                Presenters:        Kevin Singh

                                                              Sobhana Bardham

                                                              Stefan Catona

                                                              Nivethika Thambithurai

                                                              Farrah Chanda Aslam

11:00-12:00         Identity and “the Other”

                                Presenters:        Niyosha Keyzad

                                                              Kerthiga Manokumar

                                                              Christian Persaud

                                                              Katie Fewster-Yan

12:00-1:00           Identity and Multiculturalism

                                Presenters:        Sharon D’Souza

                                                             Muniza Tajuddin Maknojia, Huiguan Sun, Wuhao Pan, and Shuo Yang (Group Presentation)

                                                             Sanjiv Kandiah

1:00-2:00:            Female Identity

                                Presenters:        Melina Oyarzun

                                                              Sarah Doane

                                                              Varma Maharaj

                                                              Laura Cok

2:00-3:00              Identity and Drama, Film, and the Web

                                 Presenters:       Mariana Bockarova

                                                              Maggie Thistle

                                                              Philip Cox

                                                              Christine Tan

3:00-4:00              Closing Ceremony

§  Speech by Conference Chair, Dr. Assif, and Keynote address by Professor Christian Campbell (English Department, St. George Campus).

§  Presentation of Participation certificates

§  Announcement of the winners of the raffle prizes for public attendance

§  Announcement of the best essay in the conference (the winner of the cash prize and other prizes)

Special thanks to judges and moderators: Andrew DuBois (English), Karen McCrindle (French, Media Studies, and Journalism), Daniel Tysdal (English), Karina Vernon (English), and Erin Webster (Visual and Performing Arts).

Arts & Events Programming

Phone: 416-208-4769



© University of Toronto Scarborough