Google Search
Campus excels again in TVO’s Best Lecturer nominations

TEACHING EXCELLENCE: Twenty-two people from UTSC have been nominated for TVO's Best Lecturer competition.

by Mary Ann Gratton

A record number of faculty members from the University of Toronto Scarborough have been nominated for TVO’s Best Lecturer this year, with 22 of our people on the list.

The nominees are: Maria Assif, Andrew DuBois, Garry Leonard, Sonja Nikkila, Daniel Tysdal, and Sandra Zichermann, Humanities; Johann Bayer and Effiette Sauer, Physical & Environmental Sciences; Chris Bovaird, Gordon Cleveland and Tim Richardson, Management; Gerald Cupchik, Steve Joordens, Gabriela Ilie, Mark Schmuckler and Konstantine Zakzanis, Psychology; Sophie Chrysostomou, Raymond Grinnell and Eric Moore, Computer & Mathematical Sciences; Clare Hasenkampf, Biological Sciences; and Thembela Kepe and Paul Kingston, Social Sciences.

“We’re very proud of the calibre of teaching on our campus,” said Professor Rick Halpern, dean and vice-principal (academic) at UTSC. “We’re thrilled to be breaking our own record, with 22 individuals nominated this year across all disciplines. It also reaffirms our conviction that excellence in teaching goes hand in hand with outstanding research, since we believe that both of these platforms are crucial to learning and discovery.”

“We congratulate all of the nominees for their ongoing commitment to deliver the best teaching possible, and we thank all of the students who took the time to submit a nomination,” Halpern added.

More than 300 people teaching at post-secondary institutions across the province have been nominated for TVO’s Best Lecturer. UTSC has garnered 22 nominees, up from 12 last year.

A panel of judges will choose 10 finalists from the nominee list to deliver complete televised lectures on TVO’s Big Ideas program. Finalists will be selected for their ability to present complex ideas with clarity, energy and authority. The top 10 finalists are expected to be chosen in December.

The winning lecturer will be selected by the TVO television audience. Television viewers will have a chance to grade each of the finalists and cast their vote for TVO’s Best Lecturer. The final lectures will begin airing on Big Ideas in the New Year. The lecture series is sponsored by TD Insurance Meloche Monnex, and the winning lecturer’s institution will receive a $10,000 TD Insurance Meloche Monnex Scholarship.

In total, the University of Toronto garnered 36 nominations, with UTSC receiving the most. From the U of T Mississauga (UTM) campus, 10 professors were nominated: Professors Guy Allen, Lee Bailey, Gary Crawford, James Fullard, Monika Havelka, Chris Koenig-Woodyard, Barbara Murck, Doug Thomson, Dax Urbszat, and Shafique Virani. From the St. George campus, Professors Dawn Kilkenny, Nick Mount and Dustin Stokes were nominated, along with Professor Michael Khan, who is cross-appointed between the Rotman School and UTM.

For more details and a complete list of nominees, click here.


© University of Toronto Scarborough