Google Search
Student among Ontario's outstanding youth volunteers

Myuri Manogaran

Myuri Manogaran, a third-year integrative biology and health studies student at UTSC, is among 18 recipients of Ontario’s top honour for youth volunteers.

In a ceremony at Queen’s Park, The Honourable James K. Bartleman, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, presented Manogaran with the Ontario Medal for Young Volunteers in recognition of her sustained and innovative contribution to the community, demonstrated leadership, initiative, perseverance and originality.

“Each of these young volunteers has unique talents and aspirations, but they all have something in common: a passion for justice and a commitment to helping others,” said Mr. Bartleman.

Manogaran was driven to volunteer when she recognized that many youth do not receive the support they need in times of crisis and sorrow. When she discovered that the Kids Help Phone needed financial support, she organized a club at Jarvis Collegiate to raise funds. She became an ambassador for the program and spoke to many children of all ages in the Greater Toronto Area.

But her volunteer efforts didn’t end with Kids Help Phone.  Developing a special committee for young Tamil women was another way in which Myuri served her community. Sensing that many Tamil women were experiencing isolation and loneliness, she created a program at the local community centre.

Mayuri serves as an inspiration and role model to young women of all backgrounds. She continues to volunteer at least 15 hours per week, fundraising and making presentations about the Kids Help Phone.

The Ontario Medal for Young Volunteers was created to recognize outstanding achievements of young volunteers across the province.

“We value the effort and energy that our young volunteers put into their communities,” said Ontario Citizenship and Immigration Minister Mike Colle. “It's this kind of leadership and dedication that strengthens our province.”

This year’s recipients are:

  • Jessica Asnani – Richmond Hill
  • Jordan Axani – Lisle
  • Sukhveer Bains – Chatham
  • Adam Birrell – Thornhill
  • Paul Cescon – Waterloo
  • Sarah Dell – Toronto
  • Roxanne Dubois – Penetanguishene
  • Catherine French – Ottawa
  • Christina Fung – Mississauga
  • Kevin Goswell – Pickering
  • Judy Hole – Kakabeka Falls
  • Myuri Manogaran – Toronto
  • Tyler Meredith – Ottawa
  • Heather Muir – Walkerton
  • Christian Scenna – Newmarket
  • Jeffery Siu – Richmond Hill
  • Valeria Spezzano – Toronto
  • Victoria Zimmer – Otterville

“The volunteer sector is an important part of our society,” said Colle. “These young people are hardworking and committed to making their communities better places to live.”

Recipients are selected by an independent advisory council. To be eligible for this medal, a nominee must reside in Ontario, be between 15 and 24 years of age and must have contributed time and service without pay to a charity, not-for-profit organization or an individual.

© University of Toronto Scarborough